Devonshire Honey Cake

This beautiful recipe was passed on to me by my good friend Nicky.  It is a really dense, tasty cake that even my daughter (who doesn’t like cakes) and my husband (who doesn’t like honey) eat!!  Plus, as always, it is simplicity itself.

225g/ 8oz unsalted butter

250g/ 9oz clear honey, plus about 2 tbsp extra to glaze

100g/ 4oz dark muscovado sugar

3 large eggs, beaten

300g/ 10oz self raising flour

  • Preheat the oven 160C/ Gas 3/ 140C Fan.  Cut butter into pieces and drop into a medium pan with the honey and sugar.  Melt slowly over a low heat.  When liquid, increase the heat under the pan and boil for about one minute.  Leave to cool.
  • Beat the eggs into the cooled honey mixture.  Sift the flour into a large bowl and pour in the egg and honey mixture, beating until you have a smooth batter.
  • Pour the mixture into mini baker and bake for 50min – 1 hr until the cake is well risen, golden brown and springs back when pressed.
  • Turn the cake out onto cooling rack.  Warm 2 tbsp of honey in small pan and brush over the top of the cake to glaze, then leave to cool.
5 Comments

Filed under Batter Bowl, Eggs, Honey, Pans, Stoneware

5 responses to “Devonshire Honey Cake

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    • Hi thanks for these comments, very helpful. I am trying to sort my blog out today actually! Mostly I use this as a back up for my FB page but am realising that I could make more of what I have here. Let me know what you think of the new look (when I’ve got it sorted by the end of today hopefully!)

  2. Excellent article, thanks!

  3. This really answered my problem, thank you!

Leave a Reply

