Carbonara Recipe – that works every time!

It has been such a long time since I added any recipes to my blog but there are still recipes which I still want to share.  I have favourite recipes which are on scraps of paper which are getting more and more ragged as I use them!  So, today I have finally got back here and am sharing with you all again.

FullSizeRenderPasta Carbonara is a recipe which my whole family loves so over the years I have tried many recipes with varying degrees of success.  Sometimes it would be flavourless, sometimes there wouldn’t be enough sauce, occasionally it was that glorious creamy sauce that coated each strand of spaghetti (our favourite form of pasta for carbonara).  Then one day my daughter had to make Carbonara at school for Food Technology at school and she brought home this recipe.  I would love to name check the parent who shared this with us but Meg has never managed to find out who it was.  Soooooo if you are reading this, live in Sheffield and had a daughter who went to Silverdale secondary school and you recognise this recipe please shout up.  In the meantime many many thanks for a brilliant recipe!!  For those purists out there – I know that this isn’t how you make a classic Carbonara BUT it works… EVERY time… and we all love it!

Ingredients

Pasta for 4/5 people (for us that means 500g spaghetti packet and I always use wholewheat pasta.  Its a really easy switch that taste no different but is so much healthier)
Olive Oil
Six slices of back bacon or 12 of streaky bacon (the better quality you can afford the better and if you can go all the way to pancetta then please do)
2 Cloves of Garlic
250ml Cream (the original recipe says double but I usually have single so use that, and our pots are 284ml so I use a whole one – who needs 34 ml of cream hanging about in the fridge?!)
Freshly Ground Black Pepper
Dried Oregano
Dried Thyme
Parmesan Cheese Grated – good chunk at least 75g.
Frozen Peas/ Frozen Sweetcorn (optional)

Method

  1. First get a big pan of salted water on to boil (I use Nigella’s rule – enough salt to make it taste like the Mediterranean!).
  2. Whilst the water coming to the boil cut the bacon into small strips/ squares.
  3. Add your pasta to the boiling water and give it a quick stir with a fork to make sure it doesn’t all end up in one lump stuck together.
  4. Add some olive oil to a large sauté pan (I LOVE my non-stick Pampered Chef one for this so I only use a small amount of oil, maybe tsp).  Once the oil is warm add the bacon.
  5. Fry the bacon until it starts turning colour.  At this point add your garlic.  Sometimes I crush the garlic, sometimes I thinly slice it – depends on my mood and the tool I have nearest to hand!  Make sure the pan is not so hot that the garlic burns.  Season with plenty of pepper.  Do not add any salt – you will have enough from the bacon and cheese.
  6.  Once the bacon is cooked and nicely brown add a good pinch of both herbs.  Stir these in and cook for a minute or two, then add your cream.  Do not boil the cream just let it get up to a good simmer.
  7. By now the pasta should be cooked.  Drain the pasta – I like to leave just a little bit of the water with the spaghetti and toss it about at this point to help reduce clumping.
  8. Add the pasta to the sauce (my saute pan is big enough I add the pasta into that – if yours isn’t go the other way!), add plenty of grated cheese and mix well.  Sometimes I also add some frozen peas and/ or sweetcorn at this point.  This is just to increase the vegetable quota in the kids diet!  Taste to check whether you have enough cheese and enough seasoning.
  9. Serve.
2 Comments

Filed under Easy Cooking, Family Cooking, Other

2 responses to “Carbonara Recipe – that works every time!

  1. Suzanne Short

    Hi Susie Lovely to see the post.  Love the recipes and am now getting more time to try new.  Best wishes to you and yours

    Kind regards

    Suzanne _____________________________

Leave a Reply

