Jam and Coconut Loaf Cake (adapted from Good Housekeeping Magazine)

The other day it was my husband’s birthday so he (obviously!) needed a cake!  Usually I would do him a chocolate cake because, well I don’t need to explain do I?!! This year however, I remembered a recipe which I had seen in the Good Housekeeping magazine which I had showed him and he said “what are you waiting for, just get on with it then!!” My memory says this was near midnight just before going to bed – so, unsurprisingly, I didn’t ‘just get on with it’.  In fact several months have passed and I still haven’t made it.  So, for his birthday I tried it.  It was a ROARING success.  It isn’t a classic cake with icing and decoration but I like to think he loved it as a birthday cake nonetheless.  I will, however, NOT be keeping it just for birthdays… it is far too yummy!  So, without further ado and any more waffling, here is the recipe!

IMG_2596Ingredients

200g (7oz) soft unsalted butter
200g (7oz) caster sugar
4 medium eggs, beaten
2tsp vanilla extract
200g (70z) self-raising flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
225g of your favourite jam (the recipe said seedless, mine wasn’t, it was fine!)
2tbsp desiccated coconut

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C/ 160C fan/ Gas Mark 4.  Lightly grease Stoneware Loaf Pan (2lb loaf tin).  If you don’t have stoneware then line the tin as well.
  2. Beat the sugar and butter together with an electric mixer (handheld electric is also fine, you can obviously do this by hand but you will need biceps of steel and it’s more than I am prepared to do!).  Do this for way longer than you would think – 5 minutes was recommended…(I just did a long time!) until the mix changes to a much lighter colour and is really fluffy.
  3. While the mixer is still going gradually add the eggs and the vanilla extract.
  4. Fold (or turn down the mixer to its slowest setting!) in the flour, baking powder and 2tbsp of warm water until just combined.
  5. Pour into tin and bake for 55min-1hr 5mins until golden, risen and a cake tester comes out clean.
  6. Allow to sit in the stoneware pan for 5 minutes or allow to cool entirely if using a metal tin, then remove from the tin.
  7. In a small pan heat the jam over a low heat stirring with a Mix ‘N Scraper until smooth.  Spread evenly over the top.  When I first started I thought I had way too much jam to fit on the cake but I just kept gently pouring and it magically stayed on!  Sprinkle with the coconut.
  8. Serve – with a good old cup of tea.
Leave a comment

Filed under Other

Leave a Reply

