Breakfast Squares

I have been looking for an easy way to get my teenagers to have a healthy, filling, easy (for them and for me!) breakfast even when they are dashing out of the door after lying in bed for as long as possible!! This recipe in a recent Sainsbury’s magazine seemed to fit the bill so I have adapted it for my store cupboard and Stoneware collection.  Not only is it really tasty (so they aren’t bothered that it is healthy!) but it is also supremely easy to make – just throw everything in the food processor, whizz and bung it in the stoneware and into the oven.  Perfect!

IMG_3197

As always, I like to make the mistakes so you don’t have to.  The first time I made this everyone loved except me, the flavour is good but I wanted it to have more of a flapjack texture.  So the 2nd time I made it I tried it in a bigger piece of stoneware (medium bar pan) which made for a thinner mixture.  The result – disaster!!  Really dried out, bad textured pap.  DON’T DO IT!!!  Oh, and it still didn’t get anywhere near to the flapjack texture I wanted!!

Ingredients

250g pitted dates (original recipe: medjool dates)
2 ripe bananas, peeled and broken into 3 or 4 pieces
200g porridge oats
60g plain flour (original recipe: wholemeal)
30g desiccated coconut
120ml olive oil
2tbsp milk (original recipe: almond or soya milk)
3tbsp golden syrup (original recipe: maple syrup)
2tbsp mixed seeds, plus a pinch
1/2 tsp salt (original recipe: fine sea salt)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/ 160C Fan/ Gas Mark 4.  Original recipe recommend lining 20cm square tin with baking paper.  I recommend using a Small Baker (Blue and Square) if you have one, or a square baker.  I do sometimes line it just to make it easier to take it out later!
  2. Put all the ingredients in the food processor except for the seeds.  Whiz until rough but well combined.  Then add the seeds and give a final blitz.
  3. Spread into the baker and sprinkle over the extra seeds.
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until firm to touch and slightly golden on top.  Leave in the tray for 5-8 minutes to cool.  Use the baking paper as handles, if used.  Cut into 16 squares and leave to cool.

IMG_3198

Leave a comment

Filed under Cake, Easy Cooking, Family Cooking, Quick Cooking, Square Baker, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

